Skip to main content

Wapato High School

Exterior of Wapato High School

School Board Selected as State Board of Distinction

CONGRATULATIONS to the Wapato School Board of Directors for earning the State “Board of Distinction” recognition, as a medium sized district, from the Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA).  Wapato School Board members include President, John Francisco, Vice President, Sarah Divina, Maria Erickson, Lori Garcia and Lorenzo Alvarado.

The annual WSSDA Boards of Distinction program honors school boards that demonstrate effective use of the Washington School Board Standards. The standards, developed and adopted by WSSDA in 2009, promote research-based governance practices that lead to high levels of student and district achievement, and help close the opportunity gap.

Applicants submitted essays and supporting evidence to demonstrate how they are putting the standards into practice.   WSSDA Director of Leadership Development, Tricia Lubach, says “Each selected school board has shown a clear focus on assessing their students’ outcomes and exploring ways to enhance their leadership.”

All of the Boards of Distinction honorees will be recognized during the President’s Dinner at the Annual State WSSDA Conference taking place November 16-18 in Bellevue

The Wapato Board’s selection as a Board of Distinction also puts it in the running to be chosen as one of the Boards of the Year in the State.   Each year WSSDA recognizes one board from each of its three categories of small, medium & large school districts as a Board of the Year.  The Boards of the Year will be revealed at a luncheon during the State Conference.